Mamta's Kitchen

Forum Thread - Dagal Phool

You may also reply to this thread.

Page: 1 2

We have been watching Britain's Best Dish and were delighted when a Hyderabadi Biryani featured in the finals. I printed the recipe off intending to make this for Diwali but one of the ingredients was 'dagal phool'. I am a reasonably experienced cook, but I had never heard of this ingredient before! Having done some research on the Internet I discovered that the English name for this is Stone Flower or Sea Lichen (apparently it has the taste of a chicken curry!).

Have you ever come across this before, Mamta? Neither of the two large Indian supermarkets here had ever heard of this.

PS - I join the chorus of the fans of this site and thank you for excellent recipes that take me back to the 'home cooking'of my mother's and grandmother's kitchens!

Mamta, on 7/11/2008 04:13pm

welcome Asha

I amsure Daagal phool adds to flavour, like using some some special mushroom like 'Guchchi'. not many people can find it. I am sure you can make good Biryani without it.

Mamta

AskCy, on 7/11/2008 06:27pm

I'm no expert on any language but I'm not to shabby with google and guess work... lol

I think it should read Dagad phool which is a sort of lichen but thats not likely in a curry ! It also appears to be used for "star anise" maybe because they look a bit like a sea urchin ? This would make a lot more sense in a curry giving that aniseed flavour you get from fennel seeds.

Anasphal/Dagad Phool - Star anise

Hope this clears things up

Steve

mamta, on 7/11/2008 10:30pm

Hello Steve

Here is a picture of Dagad Phool; http://www.aayisrecipes.com/glossary/Title/RGFnYWQgcGhvb2w=/Referer/LzIwMDgvMDkvMDYvZ29kYS1tYXNhbGEtb3Ita2FsYS1tYXNhbGEv/ It looks more like a sort of mushroom than Star Anise.